Victor: Part II.

August 16, 2007 at 2:07 pm 2 comments

Finally, I lost hope in any kind of romantic relationship. This epiphany surfaced when he began to date another girl, a year older than him. I felt horribly betrayed. I had revealed, weeks earlier, to her how much I liked him. It was all I could do to avoid spotting them sitting together in the halls after lunch, ducking into corners between classes. Whenever possible, I complained to him about her. I claimed he was forsaking our friendship. I hated everything about them. I hated how secretive he was about her, I hated hearing about them from mutual friends. I hated how they had the same cell phone, how he made her a Myspace. I was miserable. It ended, abruptly, or maybe not. I don’t remember. They were over, but stayed close friends, which still really annoys me…. Victor and I evolved from school friends into the occasional movies, trips to Seattle, nights at Sharis’.

We began to argue constantly during our nightly MSN conversations. I craved our fights, searching for reasons to explode at him. I accused him of being moody, pretentious and a know-it-all. He told me I was immature, cruel and ridiculous. When he swore at me, I knew he was really pissed off. If I was losing an argument, I’d block him for days. But we always slipped right back into friendship.

Then I did it. I introduced him into my close group of friends. I shouldn’t have; he was always extremely careful not to introduce me to any of his friends. I should have considered his irresistible charm, his wit, his intellect. Of course they took to him instantly. They started calling him, texting him. They added him on Myspace. It was a nightmare. It has sparked countless fights since. Years have gone by and I still despise when he hangs out with them. I hate calling them “our” friends.

Entry filed under: Victor.

The color of the door. It IS interesting.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Victor  |  August 17, 2007 at 4:40 am

    This edition is slightly more melancholic than the last…

    Reply
  • 2. michele  |  August 18, 2007 at 6:11 pm

    thanks amelia!…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Why can't they say what they want?

Why can't they just say what they mean?

Come clean, listen and talk.

Top Posts


